Octoberfest

It’s been two months already! Two months with no purchase! I made my decision to give up shopping for an entire year one sunny day on the island of Maui, on August 21st, 2015 to be exact. I just bought one more maxi dress, as usual I did it more out of lust than out of need, when I told my husband: “This is my last purchase. From now on, I won’t buy anything that is not vital for my survival.” He didn’t say much, actually he didn’t say anything at all. But I meant what I said. It felt right at the time.

After we got back to L.A, I didn’t think much of it. By the time we got back to our daily routines, it was already back to school. Like any mom out there, I was so busy planning our daily lives, making sure everyone was smoothly transitioning from one school year to an other, that I didn’t have time to think of myself.

Then one day it happened. I was at the mall by myself when I spotted a sweater on display. In my mind, it was the perfect sweater for Fall (even though the temperatures so far were more in the 90 degrees). I instinctively entered the store just to remember that I couldn’t. It hit me so badly that for a few seconds I wondered what was I thinking when I made the decision? I can cheat on a diet and then go back to being careful again the next day but this was different. So I did what I used to do when I was a young and broke student (and that I still do today when I am about to make a compulsive purchase); I took the sweater, hung it on my arm and walked around in the store with it. It was just as soft as I imagined, perfect lenght, long sleeved just the way I like. Then on my way out, I gently put it back where I found it and left.

That is when I started talking more about my decision, it was like a therapy. The more I talked about it, the less I felt the need to get new things. And that is when the unthinkable happened. Upon hearing that, my friend presented me with a bag full of designer clothes (Guess, Calvin Klein, Dollhouse, Zara etc…) that she was about to bring to a consignent store. It was also a reminder that I was never a size 4, and that sicne having kids, I could barely fit any size 6, still I was able to go away with a handful of items. And if that was not enough, an other friend of mine gave me a brand new Miu Miu handbag that she never used, making the whole experience a win-win situation.

Let’s say that so far, I see the whole thing like going on a diet! The first days, you are fine, then hunger sets in and you crave any food, and slowly your body get used to its new diet and you are good. So I guess I am at the craving stage! And yet, who knows, maybe taking this journey was the best decision I had made in a while?

“When it comes to making a big change in your life, you have to want it more than you fear it”. Unknown 

e

Leave a Reply

